1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2. Week 25 of the BladeForums.com Year of Giveaways is live! Enter to win a Spyderco Manix 2

Click here to enter the drawing for your chance to win a Spyderco Manix 2 , Bladeforums.com swag or memberships!
    Be sure to read the rules before entering, and help us decide next week's giveaway by hitting the poll in that thread!

Entries will close at 11:59PM Saturday, June 22 ; winners will be drawn on Sunday @ 5pm on our Youtube Channel: TheRealBladeForums. Bonus prizes will be given during the livestream!

Questions? Comments? Post in the discussion thread here

$50 Knife

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by swell6, May 7, 2019.

1. swell6

swell6

May 7, 2019
    Hello,

I'm new to the knife game and have been looking for about 2 weeks for a new EDC folder. I've carried a CRKT for about 2 years now, and am ready to spend a little more (Its a $24 knife) to get something that I love. My budget is around $50. I'd spend more if I fall in love with something, but would prefer to stay around $50.

I have a couple requirements:

1) The blade must be 3" or less since I work in DC
    2) I'd prefer something that has a handle that isn't black, and I like the look of black finish on a blade. Basically, non-black handle, and black blade
    3) I like the functionality of a combo edge, but the more I read about knives, the more I think I'm ok with trying out a smooth edge.
    4) I'd prefer something with a deep carry clip but can always put that on later
    5) I prefer rubber/plastic handle vs. metal. Metal always seems slippery to me.

A couple knives that have caught my eye:

Rat II
    Several models of the Buck Vantage (unfortunately have black handles)
    Bestech Thorn
    Spyderco Efficient

Does anyone have any other suggestions or think one of the models above is leaps and bounds better than the others?

Thanks for reading,

2. Rykjeklut