BladesByBaz

Discussion in 'Hammer & Tongs' started by BladesByBaz, Aug 4, 2014.

1. BladesByBaz

BladesByBaz

Aug 2, 2014
    G'day,

Absolute beginner here. I've just made a handful of knives from lawnmower blades and files.

This current knife I annealed using an oxy-acetylene torch, got it glowing cherry red then let it cool down slowly. It made it soft enough to grind, file and sand.

Did I do that right?

Next thing I need to do is harden/temper. I've been reading around and it seems that heating it up cherry red but then instead of letting it cool naturally, I am to quench it in some preheated vegetable oil is that right?

From what I read to temper it I need to put it in the oven at around 400 degrees Fahrenheit (My oven is in Celsius) for a few hours, let it cool then repeat.

Should I sharpen it before or after tempering?

Baz.

Lawnmower blade knives.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

File knives

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 11, 2015
  2. GHEzell

GHEzell

Nov 14, 2001
    As for the annealing, if it got soft enough to file you did it right. If you didn't go hotter than cherry red you probably didn't grow the grain.