1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2. Week 16 of the BladeForums.com Year of Giveaways is live! Enter to win a Buck Custom Shop 119 Special lasermarked with the BladeForums logo!

Click here to enter the drawing for your chance to win a Buck Custom Shop 119, or Bladeforums.com swag or memberships!
    Be sure to read the rules before entering, and help us decide next week's giveaway by hitting the poll in that thread!

Entries will close at 11:59PM Saturday, Apil 20; winners will be drawn on Sunday @5pm on our Youtube Channel: TheRealBladeForums. Bonus prizes will be given during the livestream!

Questions? Comments? Post in the discussion thread here

Ceramic stones vs. Diamond stones???

Discussion in 'Maintenance, Tinkering & Embellishment' started by usmc0811, Mar 24, 2019.

1. usmc0811

usmc0811

Jun 11, 2008
    Im new to all this and did a search but didnt find exactly what I wanted. My question is whats the difference between ceramic and diamond stones?
    What can one do better over the other?
    What types of steel should be used for which?
    any other differences, pro's con's things I should know?
    My setup will have both but I just want to make sure I use them properly for what they were intended for.

2. miso2

miso2 Gold Member Gold Member

Nov 19, 2014
    This is my take.

Ceramic (aluminum oxide): Good for low alloy steels like carbon steel, 440C, VG10, etc. May not work well for high alloy steels.
    Ceramic (silicon carbide and cubic boron nitride): Good for all steels including high vanadium steels like S35VN, S110V and likes.
    Diamond: Good for any steels. Grind very fast. New coarse stones may leave very deep scratches. High grit stones above #1,000 are not common.

wardcleaver and DaveDM like this.
  3. FortyTwoBlades

FortyTwoBlades Baryonyx walkeri Dealer / Materials Provider

Mar 8, 2008