Do you prefer 4V or CPM Cruwear in a folder, and why?

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by jstn, Aug 7, 2020.

1. jstn

jstn Gold Member Gold Member

Jun 27, 2012
    So I have an abundance of knives, and with a baby on the way, I have to get rid of some. The PM2 is one of my favorite models, and I have a few sprint models I have recently acquired in 4V and CPM Cruwear. I wanted to see which most of you prefer in folder, as I have used Cruwear a bit in the past but I haven't used 4V at all. I really prefer a bit more toughness over edge retention, so a blade that is less prone to chipping is important to me. Thanks in advance for any and all input.

I suppose I should add too that I have another new PM2 in 20CV, and while I have a lot of experience with the steel and really like it, I could be persuaded to part with it instead of the Cruwear or 4V models.

2. hhmoore

hhmoore Gold Member Gold Member

Feb 7, 2014
    Do we prefer 4V or CPM 4V?
    Am I missing something?

3. jstn

Jun 27, 2012
    My bad, I meant to type 4V or CPM Cruwear...

4. Larrin

Larrin Gold Member Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Gold Member

Jan 17, 2004
    They're both in a similar category of properties. The CPM CruWear does have a bit better corrosion resistance though. What is the hardness on the steels in the two knives?

jstn likes this.
  5. Murdamook

Murdamook

Nov 3, 2010
    As a user of Zwear, that stuff is bomb proof. I don’t have much experience with 4v.

6. jstn

Jun 27, 2012
    I am not sure on the hardness. They are both Spyderco PM2 models, and I've not been able to find any info directly from Spyderco disclosing that info.

7. Ajack60

Ajack60 Platinum Member Platinum Member

Apr 21, 2013