Forced patina rubbing off?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by Harley Boatman, Jun 21, 2020.

1. Harley Boatman

Harley Boatman

Jun 21, 2020
    Hey guys, I’m new to knifemaking and recently finished my 2nd knife. I used Apple cider vinegar to force a dark grey patina but the sheath gave it these horrible scratches which took off the patina. Here’s the full process, please let me know what improvements I should make-
    After heat treat and cleaning up the bevel I hand sanded the entire surface to 220. Suspended the knife in a PVC pipe of ACV and let soak for 45 mins. Pulled out, sprayed with windex and wiped clean.
    I did forget to tape the blade before molding the kydex, not sure if that would have any effect.
    Of all the threads I’ve found no one has said anything about a forced patina rubbing/scraping off with only a few times in/out of the sheath.

2. allenkey

allenkey Gold Member Gold Member

May 19, 2018
    It will rub off in time unfortunately. The oxide layer that forms is very thin.

Not much we can do about it unfortunately. Taping your blade up before molding the kydex would've prevented it being rubbed off in parts... During the molding. But as soon as you tested the sheath it would've rubbed off in places.

3. Harley Boatman

Harley Boatman

Jun 21, 2020
    Wow I didn't realize it was so delicate. It's worn down to looking almost satin in the worst parts. Still under 15 or so times in/out of the sheath. Definitely can't sell a product that doesn't hold up..AT ALL. Any advice on what to do different to get that dark look and/or rust protection?

4. bmilleker

bmilleker Gold Member Gold Member

Nov 26, 2012
    A kydex sheath will always lead to scratches. Whether its something impregnated in the kydex during forming, or grit falls into the sheath through use. It will happen.It will happen to machine satin, hand rubbed, patina, media blasted, etc..