Hardside luggage advice needed

Discussion in 'Gadgets & Gear' started by Joss, Nov 7, 2006.

1. Joss

Joss Gold Member Gold Member

Nov 20, 2001
    All,

I need a new piece of registered (not carry on) luggage / travel case. My previous case is a huge upright soft-sided Samsonite, that has served me well but is finally dying.

I am now convinced that I need something hard sided, to protect my stuff from the sharp corners of other cases and the loving attention of baggage handlers across the world.

I am a hobbyist photographer and scubadiver, and will likely carry some fragile and/or awkward equipment regularly (though the camera & lenses will be carried on board).

I am looking at the (expensive) Samsonite Silhouette cases:
    http://us.samsonite.com/webapp/us/s...View?storeId=10001&langId=-1&productId=219695
    or
    http://us.samsonite.com/webapp/us/s...View?storeId=10001&langId=-1&productId=219686

I am also looking at the Pelican cases, most notably:
    http://www.pelican.com/cases_detail.php?Case=1560
    http://www.pelican.com/cases_detail.php?Case=1600

I like the fact that both the Samsonite and the Pelican are available in flashy colors. Sometimes, that makes it easy to pick your case among many.

Obviously, the Pelicans are basically impossible to kill, which is good. They're also significantly cheaper than the Samsonite. On the other hand, the 1560 is 18Lbs without the foam - this is a big piece of a max allotment of 50Lbs (for domestic flights).

I am not again buying 2 smaller cases, I'd like to hear from other expert travelers...

Thanks!

2. Gollnick

Gollnick Musical Director

Mar 22, 1999
    I got fed up with bagage damage and went out and bought an Anvil case (makes Pelican look whimpy). The thing weighs about 30lbs empty. I don't care about lugging; I'm a pretty strong guy. But, I got sick and tired of paying $50-75 in excess baggage fees each way when my bag went over fifty pounds. The airlines have really cracked down on that lately.