I love the smell of cosmoline in the morning

Discussion in 'Gadgets & Gear' started by MadDaddy, Jun 1, 2005.

1. MadDaddy

MadDaddy

Apr 8, 2005
    ahh, that new old gun smell :) just picked up a Russian SKS c.1954 yesterday and got her all cleaned up and ready to shoot. I'm not much for the abused wood look, so I put a black composite stock on it and an AK style muzzle brake. Hopefully I will be able to put some rounds down raonge after work today, and maybe get some pics to post as well. This is my first time shooting 7.62 so I am excited :D the guy at the store gave me a few boxes of Sapsan ammo for free. I never heard of this stuff but it looks just like Wolf/Russian surplus, so my guess is that it is re-boxed surplus.

2. Good find. Ever read Backwoodsman magazine? There are a lot of articles on old rifles picked up on the cheap, and several how to articles on how to clean up old guns.

http://www.backwoodsmanmag.com/

3. Summerland

Summerland

Oct 13, 1999
    Good to hear from another SKS owner! I picked up a Yugo 59/66 a few months ago.

I don't mean to lecture, but if this is your first SKS, be sure to fully disassemble your firing pin block and clean all the cosmo out with solvent. Make sure the firing pin is not stuck in the channel--there's nothing like a string of slamfires to wake you up at the range :eek:

Also, check out this site for some friendly folks:
    http://www.sksboards.com/forum/

Give us a range report when you can!

4. MadDaddy

MadDaddy

Apr 8, 2005
    Thanks for the links guys :) I will be shooting it in about...3 hours..woohoo :D

Summerland, I took the whole damn thing apart lastnight and got everything squeeky clean and free moving and licely lubricated, I was up till almost midnight. I read about slam-fires and made sure that the firing pin is free moving when the bolt is shaken back and forth. I also read about a nice looking "spring returned" firing pin relacement and will probably look into it.

5. uncle Alan

uncle Alan