If given the chance, what knife company would you work for and what changes would you make....>

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by serpico69, Feb 3, 2021.

1. serpico69

serpico69

Jan 4, 2021
    Hi all,

I enjoy this forum. I am a total newbie who found a new hobby (better late than never).

I wanted to buy a proper high end folding knife and did a ton of research and for better or worse ended up with a Chris Reeve Sebenza. I bought the small 31 PJ and then added a 31 PJ large. I absolutely love it.

I will probably add an inkosi or a zaan at some point but it got me thinking..

This forum is full of knowledgable very smart knife aficionados and what if we were able to join a company and make a change or add a product or affect pricing, what would it be and do?

I will start:

I would choose to work for Chris Reeve..small entrepreneurial company, nice people from what i hear and they have amazing customer service
    Idaho is cool. I am in Florida..ha

I would then after working there "suggest" the following:

I would make a total number of each knives for that year and when they sell out they sell out. Prices would be high and sought after and exclusivity would be even more-so.

What would you all do?
    Thank you looking forward to comments

2. unwisefool

unwisefool Gold Member Gold Member

Jan 22, 2007
    Why would that make sense at all? If they are selling almost all they make now, why would you want to lower the amount of product you are putting out? And raising prices to create exclusivity out of nowhere would more than likely backfire. Why is your knife suddenly more expensive when you are using the same materials you did last year? I'm not seeing any logic in this, except for someone to crow about how exclusive their product is and breaking their arm trying to pat themselves on the back too hard. You would just be angering your existing customer base and making it harder to acquire new sales.