Knife handle fix

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by Houndsman, Sep 11, 2020.

1. Houndsman

Houndsman

Sep 11, 2020
    I've been working on a hidden tang knife for a while now. I am new to putting handles on knives and have somewhat limited tools and a limited budget as I am a college student. I was a little sloppy when drilling out the slot for the tang and when I sanded the handle down some of the epoxy is showed. I guess when drilling pilot holes they went off course and created little channels that the epoxy filled. I'm not too worried about strength as I am using high quality industrial strength epoxy (Gflex 650).

I'm looking to hide the epoxy spots as aesthetically as possible. Any suggestions? I have spent a fair amount of time on this piece and I'm really pleased with the wood and don't want to have to start over and buy the materials again. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

2. Houndsman

Houndsman

Sep 11, 2020
  3. TheEdge01

TheEdge01

Apr 3, 2015
    Channel out some of the epoxy, and mix super glue with saw dust from the handle material you used and fill the void.

4. Bill DeShivs

Bill DeShivs KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Jun 6, 2000
    There is nothing you can do to fill or camouflage that.
    Replace the handle, or cut that area out and replace it with a contrasting spacer.

tkroenlein, AVigil and Drew Riley like this.
  5. Drew Riley

Drew Riley Riley Knife and Tool Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Oct 17, 2007
    I'd just chalk it up as a learning experience that's been bought and paid for, and go ahead and redo the handle with something else. The time and effort it would take to fix well enough to hide your mistake, could just as easily be halfway done with another handle.

6. Hengelo_77

Hengelo_77 Basic Member Basic Member

Mar 2, 2006
    Either redo or use it as a dirty user and learn from it.