Knife handles

Discussion in 'H.I. Cantina' started by Sticks, Mar 18, 2012.

1. Sticks

Sticks

Mar 18, 2012
    What are the many different types of tangs and knife handles (types of material, wood names, ect, ect). I'm trying to see what type of handle I would like to have for a Kukri. Thanks.

2. wroughndt

wroughndt Platinum Member Platinum Member

Oct 31, 2011
    If you post this in the "Himilayan Imports" sub-forum you will get answers from the Kukri experts around here. I am no expert but from what I understand as far as the tangs go.... A "rat tail" tang is plenty strong enough on most kukris and helps keep vibration and shock from transferring into your hand. The full tang is stronger but it will transfer more shock into your hand while chopping. Good luck buddy!

3. Sticks

Sticks

Mar 18, 2012
    Thank you very much, you have no idea how much this saved me, I'd never be able to figure it all out on my own. Again, thank you very much.

4. Karda

Karda Banned BANNED

Jun 1, 2007
    Well Sticks, I can only speak for himalayan imports, but most khukuri makers will offer some of the same variety we have.

The two common tangs are the Stick or rat-tail type tang and the Chiruwa tang ( full visible tang, also known as Panawal by other makers)
    There is also a short rat tail type, but that is mostly used on true villagers and ornamental khukuri. All H.I. khukuri have their rat tail tangs peened at the buttcap for more strength and security.
    At H.I. we offer many types of different woods from traditional nepali woods, american hardwoods and sometimes other exotic species when available. There is also traditional water buffalo horn, but when available we can also offer whitetail stag, sambar stag and at times have even used elk antler.

For some pleasant reading, info and education about khukuri in general and himalayan imports please see these links:
    http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php/719860-Himalayan-Imports-Link-Library