1. BladeForums has ZERO TOLERANCE for extremism or calls of violence. We request your assistance dealing with this as we do not want to see the site shut down due to violent threats. Please see this thread here in Tech Support: https://www.bladeforums.com/threads/bladeforums-has-a-zero-tolerance-policy-towards-threats-of-violence-extremism-be-warned.1769537/

**Looking for a hatchet that holds an edge**

Discussion in 'Axe, Tomahawk, & Hatchet Forum' started by farmboy84, Aug 23, 2015.

1. farmboy84

farmboy84

Aug 23, 2015
    hey guys and gals,

i'm looking for a hatchet with a flat back and a blade that can withstand some abuse. I work as a Land Surveyor and use a hatchet to "stamp" markings into steel legal pins. My issue is i cannot find a hatchet that has a blade than can handle the abuse. would i be better off making my own out of the hardest steel i could get my hands on? or is there a manufacturer that makes some sort of thing? thanks in advance.

Blake.

2. jblyttle

jblyttle

Sep 3, 2014
    And you won't. They will either flatten out or chip, there is no in-between. This is not the job for a hatchet and I strongly recommend that you not use one. What you want is a cold chisel and a 3-4lb hand sledge. Picture a hatchet sized sledgehammer.

If you insist on a hatchet I would just use an Estwing. They are not expensive and decent enough steel. Any high quality "harder" steel would cost more and you would just chip it anyway.

3. okto

okto

May 13, 2014
    Seconded. What you want is a cold chisel and a drilling hammer. A hatchet just isn't designed for that.

4. FortyTwoBlades

FortyTwoBlades Baryonyx walkeri Dealer / Materials Provider

Mar 8, 2008
    Thirded. Cold chisel is the way to go. An undervalued tool these days, but a must have in every toolbox.

5. 300Six

300Six

Aug 29, 2013