Thumbstud or Flipper for safe beginner carry?

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by rak2, Apr 23, 2016.

1. rak2

rak2

Mar 17, 2016
    Total beginner here. Got it into my head that I want to buy a Hogue EX02 (the smaller blade).

So what are the considerations or pros/cons to carrying a Flipper vs a Thumb stud if one is new to the game?

Am thinking the Flipper might be more of a risk of accidental (partial) opening in a pocket, but I might be more inclined to cut my self opening a Thumb stud.

Suggestions?

rak2

2. BenjaminRush

BenjaminRush Gold Member Gold Member

Mar 17, 2015
    I've never had a flipper open in my pocket. Additionally I've never almost cut myself with a thumbstud with the exception of some assisted opening knives as I tend to lose purchase on the stud when the assist kicks in. You may also consider an opening hole (such as found on Spyderco knives) or a slip joint that requires two hands to open. Whatever you choose, familiarize yourself with the knife and you shouldn't have much issue. Almost all of us get bit eventually for whatever reason, but method of deployment doesn't much contribute at least in my experience. Welcome and good luck!

3. blade dude

blade dude

Nov 8, 2015
    Both are safe. Go to a store that sells guns and camping gear and handle some knives see if you like using a flipper or thumbstud more.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. Insipid Moniker

Insipid Moniker Gold Member Gold Member

Feb 28, 2011
    Whatever feels more natural to you. Personally, I'll take the Spyderhole over either, but it's all down to personal preference. See if you can handle assisted flippers, manual flippers, manual thumbstuds, assisted thumbstuds, thumbdiscs, thumbholes, etc. before making a choice.

Even then, keep in mind, not all thumbstuds or flippers are created equal.

5. Mannlicher

Mannlicher

Nov 19, 2008