Tribal lock blade play

Discussion in 'Traditional Folders and Fixed Blades' started by Pollack, Feb 28, 2021.

1. Pollack

Pollack

Feb 28, 2021
    I recently picked up a Case Tribal lock. It is a beautiful knife, but I didn't notice it has some blade play when closed. The blade can easily be pushed side to side where it touches one liner and almost touches the other. It locks up fine and it doesn't affect how it will be used. I guess this is not that uncommon, but I'm hoping their might be a fairly easy remedy.

Best regards,

2. Wheat_

Wheat_

Nov 15, 2019
    This is just how lockbacks are, not all but most of them in my experience. It shouldn't really affect anything.

cbach8tw likes this.
  3. Pollack

Pollack

Feb 28, 2021
    Thanks for the reply Wheat_, that was my suspicion as well. I have a new found appreciation for traditional pocket knives and I have very little experience with them.

Best regards,

Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
  4. Bastler

Bastler Gold Member Gold Member

Feb 9, 2020
    Pictures, man. We need to see your new knife. Oh, and welcome to the forum.

Un-Chained likes this.
  5. Riz!

Riz! Gold Member Gold Member

May 5, 2014
    Does it have the play when open?

6. Pollack

Pollack

Feb 28, 2021
    No blade play when open. Also, I used a rag, magazine, and 3 inch c clamp and pet on it a little bit. It aligned the blade and took out some of the play. I bet if I continued it would be helpful; however, it is likely well within spec now. I don't want to cause any damaged, it has the carbine fiber scales. A bit disheartening for a new $80 knife. Thanks to all who replied.

Best regards,

7. Ice Tigre

Ice Tigre

Dec 17, 2004
    I honestly doubt you'd find a several hundred dollar lockback that doesn't have a bit of side to side play when closed... Just nature of the action, they all seem a tad "loose".

The fix is to stop pushing sideways on the blade. ;) :p

8. Matt_WY

Matt_WY Gold Member Gold Member

Sep 30, 2018