1. Our COVID-19 response can be found here

What kind of oil do you use?

Discussion in 'Himalayan Imports' started by ShamrockWill, Sep 5, 2011.

1. ShamrockWill

ShamrockWill

Jul 7, 2011
    Just wondering what peoples preferences are? I've read many use mineral oil but the stuff I got at the pharmacy(only mineral oil I could find) beads up too much and thosebeads cause stains that are quite annoying. I'm using my 20" Sirupati in place of a machete at work(I do Landscaping) so I have to clean and oil it almost daily and I just can't seem to get that mineral oil on my blade in a "very fine layer" without beading. when I try to wipe the beads away they just cause streaks. Any advice on a thinner oil that doesn't bead as much will be greatly appreciated. Also I'm new to oiling blades so application advice will be happily accepted as well. Thanks!

2. Karda

Karda Banned BANNED

Jun 1, 2007
    The pharmeceudical mineral oil i use is pretty thick, so i havent had an issue with beading.
    Most any light oil will work. i have also used WD-40 with good results.
    The biggest thing is to use a light oil that is stable and wont go rancid.

3. moogoogaidan

moogoogaidan

Feb 21, 2009
    If you're not using it for food prep, any synthetic motor oil (like Mobil 1) features extremely small fat polymers that can enter even the smallest of pores in the surface of metals. WD40 is generally not as recommended because it's made more to lift solid particles away from surfaces rather than pure lubrication, but it definitely works to that end. If you're looking for pure lubrication, though, you'll be better off going with a product that doesn't lubricate as a result of leaving oil residue behind its cleaning action. Once you get a good oil penetrated in the blade, I hear products like Renaissance Wax are great to add a long lasting barrier for stress free storage.

4. FTR-14c

FTR-14c

Jul 24, 2011